1.6 – Revolving Door

Here I am
Waiting by the phone
Refreshing the page
Checking every route you might consider
To gift me a moment
Of your time.

Sift through the surface chat
The banter played out like Act I.
Nothing worth knowing
And yet the ice needs the weight
To shift into gear
When you will cast upon me
A cloak of questions
Digging
Excavating the marrow
Finding the soul
You’d rather not know.

Here I am
Feasting on a voice
That holds no regard for the hour
Devouring the words
Aimed at me from mere boredom
Amusement will do
In the absence of love
Wrapped in a pretty bow
Of empty words
You gift me
With your time.

In the night
When a hug is my every need
A whisper
My delicate rose
I fall
To the pits of a dwelling
Labeled NAIVE
Accepting the desolation
Like a song that says ‘you’re nothing’
To the prettiest melody.

I taste the kisses
In dreams
Of what does not exist
A puzzle piece
Broken and buried
In foreign soil
Chasing the visions
An opiate to my addicted
Lonely beating heart.

Am I not more?
Do I not deserve those dreams in life
In motion
To beats that accentuate
My every smile
My every word
A hue to match each thought of my uninhibited mind
Do I not deserve to linger
In the pause before the kiss
The glitter and magic
Of a thrilling what-if.

Here I am
Waiting by the phone
Refreshing the page
Checking every route you might consider
To gift me a moment
Of your time.

Though regret will lurch over my shoulders
For tonight
I will decline.

By skylah1053 Posted in Poetry

Leave a Reply

