1.29 – Dear Dream Catcher

I am writing this letter to you for a few reasons. I know you’ve just been an idea in my head and in just a few hours, I’m going to start the excelled journey of NaNoWriMo, in hopes that I can get you down on paper.

You scare me. If I can’t get you out…can I get anything out?

You excite me. For the potential you represent.

You confuse me. I honestly don’t know where you came from.

I don’t want to let you down and not do enough justice to a concept I’m really excited about. I don’t want to prove to myself that I wasn’t ever really meant to be a writer. If I fail at this challenge…what does that say about my capability? Can I finish anything? Will I? Will it be worth it?

I’m probably going to break up with you at least twice…in the first week. I’m probably going to call you a bunch of very bad names and potentially threaten to burn you. I may even call you the worst idea known to man. I want you to know that I don’t mean it.

I’ll probably ignore you for a day or two and then be angry that you aren’t turning out the way I want you to. You’ll be my worst writing yet and I’ll probably feel ashamed for that. You’re going to make me have a melt down and I dislike you already…

And yet, you are my hope. May the muse be with us.

Sincerely yours, Skylah.

Leave a Reply

