1.85 – My Writing Tools

A recent exchange on Twitter made me consider this:

What do I need to write? What puts me into that place that lets me go to town with the muse? Well, here’s my answer. Everything on this list is not crucial but definitely has put me into that great place.

To Kiss The Muse, I like:

  • Orange Soda. I feel like Kel from Keenan and Kel. Do you love orange soda? I do, I do, I dooooo-ooooo.
  • A fresh notebook. Preferably college ruled.
  • A gel pen. One that makes clicky sounds when I raise my pen from the paper.
  • A good keyboard that bounces back, since I tend to type very hard and very fast.
  • Cheeto’s or Oreo’s. Either of these soothe my munchies and prevents me from stopping…unless I have to take a leak.
  • Music. I can’t emphasize this one enough. Hell, I’ll even add a playlist of some of my favorites!

1. Shark In The Water – V V Brown

2. Halo – Beyonce

3. Runaway – Kanye West

4. Love Rain – Jill Scott & Mos Def

5. Laughing With A Mouth Of Blood – St. Vincent

6. Epic – Faith No More

7. Down Down Down – The Presets

8. Runaway – Linkin Park

9. That’s It, I Quit, I’m Movin’ On – Adele

10. Dragula – Rob Zombie

11. Until The Day I Die – Story Of The Year

12. Push It – Static-X

13. Dibiza – Danny Tenaglia

14. The Garden – Mirah

15. YKK – Fluke

16. Sail – AWOLnation

17. Pon De Floor – Major Lazer

18. Go Back To Sleep – Spatula Castle Remix

19. Bang Bang – Nancy Sinatra

20. Maps – Yeah Yeah Yeahs

21. Skullfuck – Neophyte

22. This Is War – 30 Seconds To Mars

23. A Chore – Tom Vek

24. Piano Tune – Bar 9

  • Oh, and cigarettes. Although I’m hoping I won’t depend on these much longer.
Leave a Reply

