1.104 – Open Doors

A friend of mine recently offered to hook me up for my birthday by recommending a place in the city for me to celebrate. If you knew this guy, you would know that he is probably one of the most genuine, giving people you could ever meet. I’m sure a lot of girls just look at him for his success – dollar signs floating through the air. But it is his caring nature that reminds me why we’ve remained friends for over a decade.

Being the girl that I am, I declined. I searched my brain for every excuse I could think of. I don’t have anything to wear to the places this guy goes to, I don’t have that type of money, I would stick out like a sore thumb. But in all actuality, I knew why I declined. Because I wouldn’t want him to be embarrassed to bring me somewhere he is a regular to and I obviously don’t fit the part.

I said the places he regulars are out of my league. He responded with:

“Don’t say out of your league then you buy into the bull crap.
All of these places should be glad you choose to set foot in them.
That’s the way to look at them.”

After some thought…I figure he’s right. Anything is attainable. An experience, a life, a love, a dream. Now, before I sound all hokey, I’m going to end this post. With gratitude. For someone speaking so clearly.

Thanks B.

3 comments on “1.104 – Open Doors

Leave a Reply

