1.113 – Stolen

He was all about trying to hit it
She was all about trying to quit it.
Junkies turning tables
lost in the panic
riding high
and flying low
danger in numbers
coinciding with danger in solidarity
He was all about getting the digits
She was all about trying to quit it.
Leaning in while she pulled away
tears welling because this wasn’t it
not here
not now
not like this
regret in a stroke
a mistake
mistook for tenderness
running from the baggage
and into the terminal.
He was all about trying to hit it
She was all about trying to quit it.
The memory,the angst, the pain of what ifs.
He hit before she could quit and turned her out…
a trick in the game
no winners

as her world ends.

3 comments on “1.113 – Stolen

    • I hope the content doesn’t remind you of your sister and if it does…I’m sorry for that. I appreciate you finding the beauty in the writing, despite the darker subject matter. I hope I can continue to turn everything into inspiration…to continue to write what people want to read.

      • It does, I have written a few things about her, you have me thinking I should blog some of my poetry… maybe I should add a second blog just for some of my writings… but yes, she let her life go, and now I am the one picking up the pieces, raising her 4 kids because her drug dealer-pimp-husband was finally put in jail for the next 25 years and without him, she actually fell apart and spiraled the rest of the way down…

Leave a Reply

