1.117 – I Quit

On my way home from work, I got to thinking about my writing.

Where the hell is this going? Is it going anywhere at all?

The answers are simple: I don’t know and no. That being said, I start reflecting on why the hell nothing is going nowhere. And I reflect on my own bitter, emotional moment of the day.

It sucks when you feel like people see you for your negative attributes. I float in the ongoing punchline of me being the mean girl. Maybe its’ funny. Shit, maybe it’s true. But I really don’t want to be the mean girl. I’m just extremely sarcastic and extremely…blunt at times. Label it rude, obnoxious, neurotic. Maybe I’m making up for years of living in the damned shadows…I don’t know.

I’m probably all of those negative things and more. But I’d like to be better. My writing is nothing but I’d like it to be more. I’d like to know more than five people are reading this damned blog. I’d like to see my writing flourish into something worth sharing. I’d like to be considered a talent, a person worth knowing, something more than a late night secret friend. Yeah, I said it. Because I know that’s what I am to people. Someone worth knowing in the daytime at a distance and someone worth talking to late at night when no one else is available. My writing is what people read because…well fuck if I know why people read any of this. It’s about the same as me wondering why the hell people waste their time…AND MINE…talking to me.

It’s all a crock, really. It’s all made up. It’s all a badly written work of fiction. It’s all maybes and what-ifs, coulda woulda shouldas and false precedents.

I want to edit Dream Catchers. That will probably never happen. I want to complete Euphoric Damnation…which is on an indefinite pause because the concept sounded good about 5 months ago but now just seems to be a stupid ass story. I want to write a trilogy called Windows – one story told from his perspective, one from her perspective and the final one being the truth. I want to write a humor piece – one story done in several genre formats. I want to re-write Lullaby – a play set in in the voice of suicide and the victim. I want to write Killing Off Allison. I want to compile my poetry and finish The Dark Room. I want, I want, I want…to write, to write, to write…

BUT

I wont do any of it. Because I’m one of those fucking people. I’m all talk. Because attempting at putting these ideas to paper will force me to realize that I’m a fake. I’m no fucking writer. I’m just one of those people who spews out ideas. And the majority of them suck ass.

I want people to think better of me. I want to be valued for what’s in this mind of mine. I want there to be a reason I am the way I am. I thought writing was my justification. But maybe…no, I’m pretty sure…there is no justification. I’m just not what I thought I was. I’m nobody…babbling on about nothing. I’m a con artist – making you believe I’m strong, smart, pretty, artistic, confidant, secure. But I am none of those things. I am a weakling, screaming for acceptance at the top of my lungs. The problem is…no one seems to hear me. Or maybe they do. Which is by far the worst of fates.

Maybe this is just a majorly self-deprecating emo moment. But for the first time in 20 years, I’m almost certain it’s time to give this shit up. My fear of rejection obviously outweighs my desire to live the dream. Story of my fucking life. The self doubt is debilitating. And I’m over feeling like a crippled woman, friend, artist. I just want to fade into the backdrop and pretend it never mattered.

My love affair with writing is over.

That’s it. I quit. I’m moving on. (Thanks Sam Cooke).

5 comments on “1.117 – I Quit

  1. Okay. Now that that’s out of your system, get over it. We are what we are. You are a writer. It’s taken me ten years more than your twenty years to get over myself. Artists have self doubts. We have to open ourselves up more than anyone else (my opinion). Writing comes directly from the soul. And opening up one self to that level of judgement and criticism and joy and completion is to go to the most extreme point of our existence. Life beckons you. Live. But do not give up your writing and your dreams. Put aside your writing implement, but do not throw it away. Allow yourself this day, this week, then return you must, for the world is waiting for your written word. And while you are struggling through this moment, remember you are loved. 🙂

  2. Everything Vicki said plus this: writing begins with ideas! Writing your blog is doing something. Now you mapped out your goals, start on them… hell I have written a novel I don’t know what to do with, but I wrote it… along with 50 million poems and stories and songs and to tell you the truth until my daughter opened her beautiful mouth and sang a few of my poems my talents were unheard of… so you’ll never know if you quit… To borrow my niece Cheyenne’s Facebook Status, I will say: “As Lance Armstrong says, pain is temporary, quitting is forever.” I’m sure you have alot more than 5 readers by the way, even I have 5 readers! LOL

  3. Nothing worthwhile is ever easy, when you write you are telling a story that’s never been told before, you are giving and sharing some of the deepest part of yourself away also carefully concealed in words. If it was easy everyone would be a writer!

    I’m not for cliches or telling you trite phrases or after school special platitudes that will solve everything in 30 minutes. You have talent, something most people don’t have , nothing chokes creative and talent like negativity. Seriously you have people to support you, though you may not see us face to face we are there.

    A lot of times when I feel this way I explore that feeling, i give it a voice because that too is part of the human story, that something that needs to be said. Sometimes you need help dealing with stuff. You have over come so much to be here at this moment right now it would be a shame to give up

    Dont make me hit you with the two claps and the real talk announcement 🙂

  4. You say your not a writer, well i beg to differ, as others will.
    This post shows you can write because you put your heart and soul into it.
    Every blogs posts consist of made up things, stories, poems, etc.
    Take mine, i have about 20 – 100% truthful posts, its only when people get to the end do they know what they have read is made up.
    But they seem to like that with my blog.
    I think you need to get out there and push your blog as others do by commenting, getting on blogrolls, etc.
    Don’t stop, i’ll come back to see what happens.

Leave a Reply

