1.146 – National Day of Silence 4.20.2012

“Please understand my reasons for not speaking today. I am participating
in the Day of Silence (DOS), a national youth movement bringing
attention to the silence faced by lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender
people and their allies. My deliberate silence echoes that silence, which is
caused by anti-LGBT bullying, name-calling and harassment. I believe
that ending the silence is the first step toward building awareness and
making a commitment to address these injustices. Think about the
voices you are not hearing today.”

I am not a student but I am a mother.  This will be my second year participating. Thankfully, my employer was supportive of my convictions last year, as I only spoke to customers to fulfill my work duties. I appreciate the support of those around me and encourage others to participate in any way they can to show that same support to our youth. My personal Tweets, FB updates and blog posts will be down from 12am April 20th – 11:59pm April 20th.

“We need to find God, and he cannot be found in noise and restlessness. God is the friend of silence. See how nature – trees, flowers, grass- grows in silence; see the stars, the moon and the sun, how they move in silence… We need silence to be able to touch souls.” – Mother Teresa

5 comments on “1.146 – National Day of Silence 4.20.2012

  1. Thanks for the support. i know how hard it is not being able to be who you are and you are a huge encouragement 🙂

Leave a Reply

