1.154 – The Captives Struggle

Clink Clink Clink

The wardens gone and the keys fall

Like dirty water down a drain

This is my freedom

My time to cast away the darkest of shadows

Mistaken for my skin

This prison was mine

A life sentence deterred by a lapse in judgement

And just when you weren’t looking

Warden…I’m gone.

Almost.

Not quite.

Clink Clink Clink

That’s the sound of my shackles

With the keys just in my reach, they mind as well be transparent.

Freedom

Have you seen it?

Can you hear it.

It’s against the bosom of slaughtered babes.

It’s that tidal wave of sunshine

That ripple effect of heat

A mirage in the desert.

Clink Clink Clink

Warden, will you notice?

Will it matter for one less?

Perhaps not

But something causes hesitation in me

Where to go

What to do

Who to see

What life to follow?

Freedom

Have you seen it?

Can you hear it.

It’s against the bosom of slaughtered babes.

The metal is in my hand.

Crisp. Clean. Solid. Pure. Ready.

Returning it to its place upon the ground

Slinking back into my cell.

Warden, you will never know

I had the chance

A chance I did not take

With nowhere to go I recede into a black stricken corner

Awaiting my next lashing

Because I’d rather feel pain than nothing at all.

Because I’d rather stare at four walls than be lost in a world of endless pitfalls.

Because I’d rather know what’s going to kill me than to await the unspoken…

Clink Clink Clink

Freedom

Have you seen it?

Can you hear it.

It’s against the bosom of slaughtered babes.

Leave a Reply

