1.165 – My Bookstore…My Time Capsule

Today is a bittersweet day.

Two weeks ago, I was thrilled to put in my notice as the Cafe Lead of my local bookstore. I have the opportunity to work for another company that can financially help me in my current situation. It’s a smart financial move.

I was happy to say goodbye to a lot of things. To try to bring some level of a clean slate to my life.

But…something happened.

I walked through the parking lot…my final walk…and cried. Just as I am crying now. Why? Yes, I’m going to miss people. Yes, I’m scared a lot of my “friendships” will end because I don’t work there anymore. Yes, I’m going to miss my customers. Yes, I’m going to miss being the girl that pretty much knows how to do everything. Yes, I’m nervous these newbies will screw up the amazing bonds I have built with my favorite and loyal customers…and I won’t be able to answer a question or fix a problem or find that damned book that no one else can find. Yes, I have the opportunity to pick up a couple of shifts if I’d like to make extra money…so I’m not even fully gone.

But that’s not why this change makes me cry so much.

In that building, I have faced the struggles of not being able to get pregnant. In that building, I shared the excitement of finding out I was going to have a baby. In that building, I have faced the struggles of a failing marriage and upcoming divorce. In that building, I learned that my best friend died. In that building, I learned that my father died.

I can’t count the number of times someone in that store has sat with me and comforted me through tears. No, my four years weren’t perfect and I’ve had plenty of moments when I’ve wanted to bludgeon people with sticks. But these people have seen my life change in ways I was never prepared for.

This building holds the moments that replay in my mind, break my heart, elate me, and ground me. This place is a capsule in time of my greatest gift and my greatest losses.

My daddy introduced me to that bookstore…not that particular one but the chain itself. It’s sentimental for me. It always will be. I lost him in that bookstore.

And this shit is rocking my world way more than I thought it ever would. Bringing up feelings I didn’t think were connected.

I cry. Because apart of me feels like I’m leaving that place behind…like I’m leaving that moment there. I’m leaving him there.

And I relive the pain.

2 comments on “1.165 – My Bookstore…My Time Capsule

  1. Honey, this was beautiful and I have felt the same in the past; especially about my office and the business I just left. Many things, both wonderful and terrible happened in that office, and to say goodbye to it was like severing a huge part of myself. I built my story from the bottom up. It’s very bittersweet and you have captured every last nuance so gorgeously, as per. Love you, sweetie. πŸ˜‰

  2. Almost what I am going through right now. I have stayed in the same room, with same family for almost 3 years now, and its time to move out to a new place. So many things have happened during these 3 years, that when I think about leaving the place, I always feel low and bad about it.

    But, we have to move on, and that’s a truth that we can’t deny. So be strong, and be ready to face new challenges in life.

    Regarding friends,those who will forget you, were never friends in true sense, and those who are truly your friends, will not forget you. All The Best πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

