1.168 – The All-Nighter

This post will follow me through my first all-night writing-fest for CampNaNoWriMo. Obviously, it will take me all night to write it but I thought it would be fun to share my thoughts as they happen. So here goes.

10:09pm – I know I will regret this choice in about 5 hours. I have to work at my new job from 7-noon and my old job from 12:30 to 5:30. I cannot even fathom how many cups of coffee I will consume in the next 24 hours. Why am I doing this? Well, besides the fact that CampNaNoWriMo starts in less than two hours…my son and I took a really late nap today. It’s not like I can just go to sleep and leave my son unattended. So as long as he’s up, I have to be up. By the time I get him down for the night, it may be after midnight and by then…sleep is just a lost cause. I’m also one of those people that hits snooze in my deepest of sleep until I have surpassed the time I was supposed to get up, which I cannot risk since I have to do five hours of computer training starting at the crack of fucking dawn. I’m already grumpy about this. But here’s hoping that my mind will be distracted as of midnight. Time to save draft. I’ll be checking in soon, kbye.

11:08pm – Went on a coffee run, yay for Starbucks double-shots in a can. Less than an hour until CampNaNoWriMo starts. Wondering how many words I can get in before my eyes go cross. Save Draft.

12:03am – AND GO! Save draft.

12:21am – Just realized my main character (MC) has no fucking name! Seriously. In outlining, I apparently left that thought out. Dumbass. Save Draft.

12:41am – 681 words down…a lot to go. Smoke Break! Save draft.

1:26am – Moving right along. Surprised my Twitter has very little discussion of CampNaNoWrimo on it. I really need to connect with more writers. Using strikethrough instead of deleting the nonsense on the page. I find that there are always hidden gems in the crap. Yes, my shit has gold in it. HAH. Listening to KRS-One. About 4 hours until I have to start getting ready for work. Need to refill my coffee. May consider another smoke break. Save Draft.

2:06am – My son refuses to sleep so I am bribing him with an episode of Blues Clues so he will sit still. That’s what I get for taking a really late nap. My cabin mates, a group of people you are assigned to for CampNaNoWriMo (kinda like a forum) don’t talk and one has already left. Beautiful. Think I might just drop the whole cabin participation because I hate being disappointed that I am the only person who bothered to say hello. Damn kids. Stumbled upon people tweeting about JuNoWriMo, which is apparently not the same as CampNaNoWriMo. I’m not about to start looking into that now since I can barely keep track of where I’m at right now. Someone better read this shit since I’m sharing, by the way, lol. A little shocked to not find as many people willing to talk about their journey and ideas. Damn you tweeters, stop writing and say something. HAH. Okay, back to the grind. Save Draft.

2:26am – Sleep just slapped me in the face and I came back with coffee and booty-shaking music. Yeah sleep, screw your face.

2:36am – These poptarts taste like shit! WTF!

2:50am – BITCHFEST ALERT: Feel free to deem me a miserable person based on this one part of this post: I am in the middle of my writing sprint and I get a random IM on Facebook from someone I really don’t even talk to who continuously plugs his sorry ass attempts at tattooing. At 2:50 in the fucking morning, you want to IM me and ask me if I need ink…WTF makes you think I would let you remotely touch my body and put something permanent on me? I get it, you’re learning. NOT ON ME, you’re not. Keep that shit moving, I don’t care how cheap it is. In tattooing, you get what you pay for and I’m willing to pay up for good ink. Period.

4:28am – The sprint rages on.

4:56am – I’ve hit a wall and somehow got preoccupied with So You Think You Can Dance videos on Youtube. Happy I’m at 2234 words. Wish I didn’t have to start getting ready for work in thirty minutes.

5:39am – Regretfully, I have to stop writing for now. Time to get ready for Job 1 for the day. Need to pick up a cup of coffee on my way in. Then job #2 at 12:30pm. Should be home around 6pm and then it’s a chill weekend with my son. Will probably spend tonight in a coma. Word Count thus far is 2910 so I technically don’t have to write again until tomorrow. We shall see.

If anyone reads this and chooses to comment, is the timeline of the process interesting or too chaotic/boring? I’ve enjoyed writing it, feels like I have a friend to talk to through the process but not sure if it’s worth reading. Hit me up, honesty counts for something.

Much Love, Sky.

2 comments on “1.168 – The All-Nighter

  1. I loved it and admire you for going the distance no way could i pull an all nighter anymore if I dont get at least three hours sleep my brain seizes up completely

  2. I fell asleep at my computer. Woke up at 5am and hauled it to bed. I should have made coffee!!
    I enjoyed the timeline. Made sense and felt like we were following along with you. My cabin talks, but I assumed they would all be writing at midnight and interacting. Wasn’t much of that going on. Shout out to me anytime on Twitter…I’ll be blogging and tweeting as I get deeper into this.

Leave a Reply

