1.169 – NaNo Day 1 Continued

Technically, still on day one of CampNaNoWriMo. Yes, I’m going to actually fill this blog with a whole useless series of my NaNo journey. At some point, if I have the courage, I will share some excerpts and research that I’ve come across through the process. But for right now – I’ve come to a few conclusions.

  1. Staying up all night before an expected ten hour shift is a BAD idea.
  2. I should learn to read slower.
  3. Never tell another writer your candid idea – what they will do is give their two cents on what you should do despite the fact that they themselves admit that they can’t handle writing 1700 words a day. They will also walk around and tell anyone and everyone who will listen about your idea and how their suggestion is fucking awesome.
  4. Never expect your friends to act like they care at all about your work. The fake smiles and half-hearted questions don’t show interest when they come off as obligation.
  5. Don’t assume everyone you talk to is your friend, even if they swear up and down that they want to be.
  6. Ordering pizza is awesome.
  7. Pepsi doesn’t taste as good as it used to.
  8. I’m scared that I’m spending my “prime” trying to get out of a shitty ordeal and by the time I get away from all of this baggage…no one will like anything about me. Not that anyone does now.
  9. I have really low self esteem.
  10. I’m tired of hoping.
  11. MY MAIN CHARACTER STILL DOESN’T HAVE A NAME!
  12. People will agree to anything you say on a topic they know nothing about because they would rather have your opinion than their own.
  13. People don’t care about art anymore. I am beginning to think they never did. 
  14. God hates me and the feeling is still mutual. I just happen to be writing a book about him.

End of day 1 word count – 4429

Follow me on twitter for more useless updates – @CerebralOMG

3 comments on “1.169 – NaNo Day 1 Continued

  1. One Rule I always tried to live buy was to keep the things I wanna do, the things that really pull my heart strings to myself because people tend to run their mouth about stuff and can really kill the enthusiasm or stain ur vision of things.

    All you can do is live in the moment and do what you feel called to do. Whether or not your main character has a name it doesnt matter sometimes they come at the end sometimes in the middle, you just have to keep writing which I am sure you will as you made a bold statement with your staying up all night. Im sure if you keep on keeping on you;ll be more than successful.

    BTW I appreciate your hustle: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=niphK0oEXFA
    Had to do it sorry, I have a rep to keep up

Leave a Reply

