1.198 – Dear Single Mothers

It saddens me to see so many single mothers proclaiming their anger, toward themselves, for the lack of influence left by bad/half-ass/disappearing fathers.

Yes, you’ve made mistakes. No, you aren’t perfect. You can be a bitch, troublesome, lazy, annoying, needy, obnoxious, and oblivious. You can be many things BUT weak is not one of them. Not now.

We love our children. We care about our children. We stay up through the late nights, the vomiting, the fevers, the hospital visits, the potty training, the picky eating, the tantrums, the laughter, the “I want to play even though you just worked a ten hour day,” the needy moments, the gimmie gimmies, the life lessons, the emotional breakdowns, the breaking of furniture, the drawing on walls, the night terrors, the diarrhea, the piss, the shit, the constant questions of why, the cries for someone who doesn’t have the time or energy to do what we do full time, the bath times, the lazy moments, the “I don’t feel like wearing clothes five minutes before you are supposed to leave for work mommy!!!”, the chaos, the joy, the sorrow, the pain, the triumphs, the failures.

We are mothers, fathers, aunts, uncles, grandparents, siblings, cousins, friends, teachers, nurses, therapists, trainers, nutritionists.

So, have that moment of wtf. Have that moment of damn, this is hard. Have a moment of I wish I could have given my child better.

And then…STFU and give your child better. Continue to be the very best.

As mothers, we beat ourselves up for what we can’t do on anothers behalf. We forget all that we do all on our own.

Trust me…I’m the first to kick my own ass. But I will continue. Because my baby needs me to.

9 comments on “1.198 – Dear Single Mothers

    • My HS English teacher used to tell me, “write what you know.” The two single dads I knew in my life have both passed away – one of them being my own father.
      This post was inspired by a particular comment made by a childhood friend and therefore does not include every single parent. I could apologize for not including men and women in this alike but that wouldn’t be me being true to the feelings I had when I wrote it.
      Nonetheless, thank you for being the rarity.

  1. As far as I was concerned I was never a single mum I was just a mum bringing my daughter up because her dad chose not to be involved once he knew I would not take him back, I was lucky in that she still had good male role models around her ie my dad and brother, but did she miss out on having a dad not one bit, she is 19 engaged and at university and far happier than she could ever had been had I stayed in a bad relationship

  2. Pingback: Topic # 8: Warm Rays of Love Begin to Break Through « Single Mothers of Mary

  3. Pingback: Ask Gwendolyn Baines

  4. Pingback: Spliced | Simply Simplistic Complexities

Leave a Reply

